DaDaAward Recipients Announced

Last night at the DaDaAwards ceremony at the Bluecoat in Liverpool the award recipients were announced as follows:

DaDaFest Artist of the Year 2010


Simon Mckeown. Simon is a fine artist. His work reflects his interest, knowledge and experience of Disability and our in particular view of ‘normality’ and ‘difference’. His work ‘Motion Disabled’ was projected in 17 countries across the world on the same night as the DaDaAwards ceremony to celebrate the International Day of Disabled People.


Liz Crow
John Kelly
Open Arts Community Choir

DaDaFest Emerging Artist 2010


Pete Edwards. Pete is an emerging live artist, writer and performer. He is an expressive and provocative artist. He has gained recognition with live art and theatre audiences, and is making waves in the LGBT and disability arts communities.

Pete is breaking ground in the field of live art, where disabled artists are underrepresented. Pete wrote and performed in FAT, which he recently performed at DaDaFest and is currently touring.


Stephen Collins
Penny Pepper
Kiruna Stamell

DaDaFest 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award

David Morris. Respected disability campaigner and mayoral adviser, who died this year. David was a poet, writer and a staunch supporter of other artists. He believed that everyone should have the opportunity to explore and enjoy their own creativity.

Ju Gosling received the award on behalf of Davids family and friends. DaDa felt it fitting to celebrate his life and his incredible achievement by awarding him the 2010 DaDaAward for lifetime achievement.

The awards are a celebration of the very best in disability and deaf arts. Artist Anne Smith designed the limited edition glass awards. The high-calibre shortlist were nominated by the public and the recipients chosen by a panel of disability artists. Artists do not have to have taken part in DaDaFest to be nominated for an Award but must have been working within the UK.

DaDaLesque BSLI